Women in Computer Science

Moderator: Zeph

vapid

Women in Computer Science

Postby vapid » Wed Jan 27, 19:56 2016

I studied computer science in college and am currently a software engineer at a medium sized company. During my experiences in the world of high tech I have met and worked with a plenty of women in my field. Before delving into any particulars I just need to say this:

You all kick ass. I have no idea how you remain as strong as you do, and you are a role model not only for younger generations of girls wanting to work with computers but for every single person in the high tech industry.

The tech industry is pretty obviously male dominated at the moment. Especially in college, a significant amount of these men are self identified "nerds" and have low levels of confidence, and deep seated insecurities about where they stand in society, especially against other men. This combination brings out a whole different beast when it comes to misogyny. One of the most common and infuriating examples I encountered is a conversation along these lines (paraphrased).
Hey you must be here for that easy job/major/class, not the one I am here for
Actually I am qualified
Well do you know about this obscure thing that has no relation to that?
Yes
Well you aren't going to do well anyway lol