The "biological argument"

Moderators: Enigma, Sonic#

felipefs

The "biological argument"

Postby felipefs » Wed Feb 15, 13:35 2017

This is a post I made on reddit.com/r/Feminism/ regarding the use of biological arguments regarding sexuality(and mating)/gender, and I wanted to share here.

Here is the text with fixed links:
The video submitted here days ago Trans women are not "biologically male" | Riley J. Dennis caught my attention because I'm a biologist (I'm male feminist just to be clear) that worked with evolutionary ecology and currently working with genomics. I'm sorry, this is gonna be a long, loooong post.

I will comment about what Riley said, what the youtube commenters said and add some points about what /u/DanyaRomulus said and /u/slutzombie said, because of the political importance of it, and because people mix mating system (reproduction) with sex (and this is very, very important).

What caught my attention is people (the commenters in the youtube page) (wrongly) appropriating of biological arguments to justify their hate. The most common argument is the XX/XY chromosomes define "sex." Sorry, if you are using knowledge of high school biology, it's very likely that you are using wrong information, since high school books on biology are oversimplistic.

I will comment here the points raised by Riley (which I agree with) and the youtube commenters (which I disagree with):

• Genitals and gonads (by Riley), for the obvious reason that they are visible attributes, should be taken in account. People with varations in these parts are perfectly healthy, and the intersex parts might even be viable. Oddly, people want to put other people with genitals different than theirs inside a category of disease/disability, which doesn't have strong support by the scientific community. Variation is normal. Variation is part of the evolutionary process.