Ownership of stuff and freedom

Bitching, whining, complaining, and general negativity

Moderator: Bork

Nerd1987

Ownership of stuff and freedom

Post by Nerd1987 » Tue Sep 1, 23:41 2015

So unless you have a fair amount of money you will live somewhere that has rules. Even subdivisions do. The more money you have the more you can be free and even get away with things that other people would be harassed by some form of authority or worse for. And getting less serious and more to the point of why I am venting: I paid almost 100 for four years of Microsoft office. I'm lucky I'm a student or it would have been roughly the same but for only one year. And you don't get a physical disk you have to download.

I'm all over the place and I'd blame being tired but I don't have to cause this is the rant forum :)

monk

Re: Ownership of stuff and freedom

Post by monk » Wed Sep 2, 12:04 2015

Open Office is free. Welcome to the digital age.

as for freedom, you have lots of it, but you're trading it for things you like and find convenient. You can own relatively cheep land where there are no rules at all, but this land is not close to the city or to the trappings of civilization (like fast internet access). So you trade some freedom for those perks of society. And it is a trade because if everyone did what they wanted with no rules all those perks would disintegrate pretty quickly.
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

And did you exchange a walk on part in the war for a lead role in a cage? - Pink Floyd.
Sonic# wrote:If these opinions don't matter to you at all, then you are unfit for conversation

Nerd1987

Post by Nerd1987 » Thu Sep 3, 0:02 2015

I wish I had read that before I activated office 365 just now haha.