Nietzschean Feminism.

Say hello and shake our hands

Moderators: cwbyrvr, Nachos

Sauwelios

Nietzschean Feminism.

Post by Sauwelios » Sun Aug 28, 15:13 2016

Hi. I'm an advanced student of the philosophy of Friedrich Nietzsche and have recently come to see that feminism may actually be a good thing from a Nietzschean perspective. Nietzsche is usually regarded as a misogynist, but I've always disagreed with that view, and I'd like to share and discuss my new insight in a perfectly polite manner.

The direct inspiration for this reversal in my thinking about feminism was this video, which I think makes very good points:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp8tToFv-bA

This video has suggested to me that feminism may be a good thing, from a Nietzschean point of view, by arguing that feminism preserves or increases men's "disposability" rather than expunging or decreasing it. For in itself, mere survival, even the survival of the species, is worthless in my view; even comfortable self-preservation is worth little. And what I think men's "disposability" has led to is that men have justified the existence of the human race, made it invaluable, through their works of genius (artistic, philosophical, political, etc.).