Feeling really guilty. Need to confess

Say hello and shake our hands

Moderators: cwbyrvr, Nachos

Gradguy

Feeling really guilty. Need to confess

Post by Gradguy » Wed Nov 2, 1:04 2016

You are welcomed to say whatever you want to me. I feel really bad about this, advice would be great, but i really feel I need to at least come clean to someone.

I am a (male) TA instructor at a major university and I teach a group of 26 undergrads. They are mostly seniors and this is my first year of grad school so we are pretty close in age. Everything was going great until for some terribly dumb reason, when i was helping a student, I looked down her blouse and I think she noticed. I feel TERRIBLE about it and now I fear that she isn't comfortable around me anymore. I truly feel bad about it and I have sworn to myself never to do it again. But that doesn't change the fact that I have possibly made one of my students really uneasy by doing something totally stupid and disgusting. She didn't say anything but I noticed she fixed her shirt when i looked and kind of forgot what she was saying for a second. She is usually a great student but today - a week after it happened - she did not participate in class at all. I had never seen her so apathetic towards class. I feel like i failed her and I am very sad and disappointed with myself. Idk if there is something I could do or say. I wish she knew how bad I feel. Maybe then she would feel less violated and would at least know that my conscience hasn't let me forget it since it happened a week ago. It was totally stupid and misogynistic of me and now I have betrayed one of the people i was hired to teach and guide... I have a lot of female friends and I'm close to my mother and sister and even to some of my exes, and now I sort of feel like a fraud around my female friends, I think that if they only spoke to this girl they would think so differently of me. She probably thinks that I just feel like I got away with it and that I have no