Employer Education Verification

Moderator: Zeph

Elise89

Employer Education Verification

Post by Elise89 » Sat Apr 9, 17:36 2016

I graduated college in 2011. 28k a year x 4. Can someone please tell me why after all these years no has ever asked for my transcripts?? Or for proof of any kind? Even when I call my college they want me to send a waiver form. Due to various privacy acts, many schools refuse to confirm or deny attendance. Even then, if I have any remaining balance the transcripts are locked and cannot be released until the balance is clear.

So I just essentially went deep into debt for something I never even needed....Like what the heck.... This is bothersome to me.

spacefem

Re: Employer Education Verification

Post by spacefem » Sat Apr 9, 18:23 2016

that's weird! where I work, we hire engineers, an engineering degree is required to come to work. we require transcripts before you even interview. a few years out your degree matters less and less, I'll admit, but that's only because your latest job is the most important thing, and your job before that and your job before that until your first job that depended on your degree so, yeah. But basically by job #5 or whatever they're basically taking your word for it and depending on references.

but it still matters. if they found out that an employee lied about having a degree I bet it'd be a serious issue.
bork can eat steak with a spoon.

rowan

Post by rowan » Sat Apr 9, 18:28 2016

Usually when transcripts are requested, you do the sending (you can send direct from the school if wherever cares about that), which takes care of the privacy issue. But yeah the schools will make you clear your balance first. A lot of places will take unofficial transcripts (which are cheaper).

Depends on the job though I suppose.
spacefem wrote:All your logical argue are belong to us!

Bork

Post by Bork » Sat Apr 9, 21:51 2016