Microwaves

Moderators: rowan, Eravial

Nachos

Microwaves

Post by Nachos » Wed Oct 25, 13:34 2017

I've been told by three people this week that microwaves are bad for you because "you are changing the molecules in the food you are heating up and that is bad for your body", "If it does that to your food imagine what it does to your body?" and other various arguments. Now, I am a scientist and this all seems ridiculous to me. Does it seem ridiculous to other people too? Or what arguments do you have for me?
Ugh, I'm tired of my signature.

rowan

Re: Microwaves

Post by rowan » Wed Oct 25, 16:51 2017

For the first one: cooking tends to make food nutrients more accessible (painting with broad brush strokes here) so ask them why they think cooking with one method is different than the other. The microwaves just jiggle the water molecules around faster (aka heats them) which then cooks things just like any other heat transfer process. So unless they are eating their meat raw in general... which uh I don't really recommend...

As for "what it does to your body" microwaves are well designed to keep the microwaves inside. So unless they are standing next to it *feeling hot* at which point if that's the case they should idk REPLACE THE MICROWAVE they're fine. If you look at the mesh over the door the holes are smaller than the microwaves which means it can't get out. (the very first microwaves did not have this and radiation did get out but I mean it's just gonna make you warm)

People fear the word "radiation" and I think a lot of that comes from the conflation/use of the term in terms of radioactivity, but microwaves are just light. But microwaves are long-wave light and aside from jiggling water molecules around (which heats them) they aren't ionizing radiation like UV or X-rays so there is far more to be concerned with going out in the sun than your microwave.
spacefem wrote:All your logical argue are belong to us!

Skeezy

Post by Skeezy » Thu Oct 26, 9:01 2017